top of page

Tiki On

Welcome to the first blog on my website! I plan to review my own songs, concerts and experiences ( past and present) here including experiences of my journey as an itinerant writer and performer.

'Tiki On' is a song I wrote after hearing about the journey of 'Kontiki'. I saw a comparison with my life being a journey and wanted to share some of that with a positive vibe. I drew on my relationship to the sea and my connection to people in water sports to create an island feel and a surfie style groove. The first half of the song is a bucket list of places I have seen and yet to see making it an unfinished journey. (My latest song 'Perfect Storm' also touches on love, friendship and faith as a journey, not a destination.)

The second part is more philosophy, encouraging the listener to overcome fear and darkness.

The motto is 'Love, Adventure and Freedom'.

From the wetlands of New Zealand to the Nordic wild and free, from the Highlands to the islands and the shore break on Waikiki. Pacific coastline California, Everglades and the Kissemmee. Dry Tortuga to Jamaica and to the Caribbean Sea. We are born to glide on the water Mother Nature, sun land and sea, to ride the winds of love and adventure TIKI ON and live to be free. From Europa to America Mother Ocean keeps us whole,

from Africa to Asia she is a partner in my soul. We all come from different places and we share one state of mind, so hold on tight, let´s move into the light and leave our worldly fears behind.

We are born to glide on the water Mother Nature, sun land and sea, to ride the winds of love and adventure TIKI ON and live to be free.

Composing this song pulled me out of a long dry period of writers block. After some inspiring encounters (and a paddleboarding trip to Spain) I convinced myself to write again but with positive meaning (and lots of wine). Finding the Island groove was challenging for me after having spent much of my life writing cynical social comment and playing covers in pubs. So I channelled my New Zealand roots and rediscovered my 'Maori Guitar Strum' which is slightly before or after the beat, I'm not sure which. REALLY? Yes, there is Latin influence in the melody which I inherited from my Dominican Republican friends in Miami. So this is a Fusion!

I hope you have enjoyed my auto-review and will download a copy of 'TIKI ON' when it becomes available.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page